SHARE
Rage 2 concept art

After the Leaks and Teases Comes the Rage

With leaks from companies such as Walmart and Bethesda, it seems Bethesda and ID are ready to unveil the sequel to the hyper-violent title, Rage. In the past week, we’ve seen a unique PR pitch roam Bethesda’s twitter. All of which speculated to a brand new sequal to 2010’s Rage. In a new trailer released by the company, Rage 2 is seeking to deliver a mad max experience with a small hint of Borderlands. The gameplay shown off reveal several aspects of what we can expect. These include a plethora of different enemies, and several guns and vehicles with which to eradicate them.

However, it seems that ID Software will not be the only studio working on the title. As confirmed by a press release from Bethesda, Avalanche Studios is working closely with ID Software to bring this project to life. Acalanche are the makers of the popular Just Cause series of open world games. A fun quote found on social media helps hype up what to expect:

“RAGE 2 packs a carnival of carnage so intense it can only come from two legendary AAA studios. That’s right, this is a f****ing AAAAAA game.”

Rage 2 has had no release date announced yet, with Bethesda only hinting at a release window for Spring 2019. So, Whether the sequel will follow the plot of the original Rage remains unknown. However, Bethesda has released a press release summarizing the games story:

“Ruthless and bloodthirsty gangs roam the open roads and the tyrannical Authority seek to rule with an iron fist.” You play as Walker, “the last Ranger of the wasteland and a threat to [The Authority’s] power.” Your character is robbed of his home and left for dead, but you must now “rage for justice and freedom.”

Bethesda has also confirmed the return of Nanotrite powers and several vehicles from the first game. In a statement released by Bethesda, it seems the vehicle count will be quite massive:

“From monster trucks to gyrocopters, use an assortment of rugged and wasteland-ready vehicles to speed across the badlands. If you see it, you can drive it.”

Bethesda has already confirmed the presence of Rage 2 at their E3 conference. With the date being set for 6:30 PM PT / 9:30 PM ET on June 10 (2:30 AM BST / 11:30 AM AET on June 11). Confirmed so far: Rage 2. The rest remain a mystery. However, Bethesda has teased that it may be the longest conference they have ever hosted.

Are you excited for the release of Rage 2? Let us know in the comments!