Classic WoW Will Have Patches… Sort of …

Blizzard has just announced that Classic WoW will follow the same timeline as the original game. Aside from small changes, each stage roughly corresponds the correct progression during Vanilla.

Stage 1

Molten CoreThe first stage represents WoW in its early iteration. This will not be the day one vanilla experience (nor would anyone want it to be, due to the server issues). Rather, it will have all of the early end game content. This includes Onyxia, Molten Core, Dire Maul, and the world bosses Kazzak and Azuregos. PvP Rewards will be absent, though. The old Hillsbrad Foothills PvP is definitely coming back.

Stage 2

Zul'GurubIn the second stage, Blackwing Lair and Zul’Gurub will be released. Aside the ‘new’ raids, comes the introduction of battlegrounds. PvP rewards will also be coming. Nobody blink, or you will miss the Hillsbrad PvP.

Stage 3


This stage will feature the 4 Emerald Nightmare dragons, Silithus world content, Tier .5, and the Gates of Ahn’Qiraj opening event. During the original version of the game, the event was so popular that Blizzard’s servers would crash. With sharding and other new technologies, the second time around is guaranteed to be smoother.

Stage 4

Of course, the final content release will be Naxxramas. Could it have been anything else? Such a small percentage got to see Vanilla Naxxramas. Because of its exclusivity when it was current, the raid achieved a mythical status among players. With extra time to play the expansion as well as no impending expansion, the myth will finally become a reality for many players.Naxxramas

We may find that due to both time and theĀ Wrath of the Lich KingĀ remaster, that Vanilla Naxxramas does not live up to its hype. Personally, I doubt it. Of course WoW players have more resources and more knowledge of the game, but Vanilla wasn’t just hard because everyone was an ignorant. Classic WoW will be a challenge, and that is an exciting thought.